Any suggestions?

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

jd4070

Any suggestions?

Post by jd4070 » Thu Nov 11, 2010 2:50 am

Hello. I am new to NoS and I found that the later hours of the evening were hard. Although I wasn't hungry, I wanted to eat anyway. I wonder why? Can anyone relate? Any advice/suggestions?

Sienna

Post by Sienna » Thu Nov 11, 2010 3:23 am

I had some trouble with evening cravings when I first started. I think part of it was knowing that I couldn't eat again until morning made me antsy.

But I think the majority of it was boredom and trying to break the habit of evening eating. I dealt with them by finding other non-eating things to do. Things that would keep me out of the kitchen and keep my mind off of food. Going for a walk was usually helpful. If it was later, I'd distract myself with silly internet games or just go to bed earlier.

I also would have a drink (generally water with lemon or unsweetened iced tea, I make my own) instead of food.

Gradually it got better, and now the urges are much rarer and pretty easy to ignore, because the habit is there.

The best advice I can give is to just try to stick with it, until the habit becomes to NOT eat instead of to eat. Don't give in, you can do it. And each day it will get just a tiny bit easier. Maybe plan extra exciting breakfasts while you are building the habit, so you have something to look forward to.
Last edited by Sienna on Thu Nov 11, 2010 3:28 am, edited 2 times in total.
Finally a diet that I can make a lifestyle!

Started June 2010
6/27/2010 - 226 lbs
10/17/2010 - 203 lbs - 10% weight loss goal!
1/29/2011 - 182 lbs - 2nd 10% weight loss goal!
5/29/2011 - 165 lbs - 3rd 10% weight loss goal! (one more to go)

kccc

Post by kccc » Thu Nov 11, 2010 3:26 am