Sugar Blues

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

kgayle1971

Sugar Blues

Post by kgayle1971 » Mon Jan 31, 2011 4:53 pm

I am new to No-S, having regained the 50 lbs. I lost last year by totally eliminating sugar. The white stuff is like heroin to me, and I feel I can't trust myself around it.

I realize this is only my first month of forming new habits, so I'll give it some time. I already checked out the sticky about No-S phases and the podcast "S Days Gone Wild." But I still wonder if anyone would recommend avoiding sugar altogether if it produces such an addictive response?

In the phases sticky it reads, "Focusing on making S-days pleasant and satisfying seems to help the most - it just takes a while to figure out that those words do not mean 'over-full' or 'frantic.'"

Those two words fit perfectly, but I could add: depressed, emotionally numb, obsessed, out-of-control, secretive, manical...any of those would fit. I am miserable on weekends.

Should I just keep plugging away until I have several months under my belt, and hope my intake of sweets regulates itself after I convince my diet brain that I'm not going to take away the goodies completely? Or should I treat this as a serious physical addiction and go back on the no-sugar wagon?
Karen, teacher and mom of 6

NoelFigart

Post by NoelFigart » Mon Jan 31, 2011 5:29 pm

Only you can answer that. Many people treat habituation different ways. Does total abstinence work better for you than moderation? Only you know that one.