Semantics: Weight Loss vs. Wellness

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

Marcie

Semantics: Weight Loss vs. Wellness

Post by Marcie » Tue Jul 19, 2011 6:26 pm

Does anyone else struggle with / over-think this?

I'm trying really hard to frame diet and exercise in terms of wellness rather than weight or size: I'd like to lose weight, but it's important to me that it be a secondary effect of eating better and being more active rather than an end in itself.

Some of this is philosophical: I believe in destigmatizing fat, and in the potential for health at any size; and in the importance of not treating size as an absolute determinant of health.

Some of it is personal: I have a history of taking diet and exercise too far, too fast. I'm extremely self-critical, and I'm not good at knowing when to stop or acting on that knowledge--more than once, I've permanently screwed up my body by pushing through injuries. For me, associating diet and exercise with weight in my head is a quick ticket to starvation and overexertion, at least for me. "Well, if X calories is good, X-1 calories must be better! If walking six miles is good, what if I just do it again? And run this time? If Y exercise burns X calories, why not just not eat at all, and make that much more progress? If hunger is a good sign, less must always be better." The momentum builds frighteningly fast, and I've learned from habit that it's not something I can control.

Anyway--posting this here both to untangle some of my own thoughts, and to see how other people handle that--and, in particular, whether there are any folks in my (relative) shoes who've developed a workable lexicon for discussing their diet and exercise choices, both with themselves and with others.

keriamon

Post by keriamon » Tue Jul 19, 2011 6:55 pm