First month complete - I gained weight

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

RacingSlug

First month complete - I gained weight

Post by RacingSlug » Tue Jan 31, 2012 4:03 pm

I finished my first month of NoSing. I had two failure days - still kicking myself for that last one because I threw away a good streak for a single Pepsi. For the most part, the N days were easy. I piled up my plates at first but the last couple of weeks have just been reasonable, normal sized meals.

But I gained a pound and a half this month. I know it's because I'm still going nuts on the weekend. I'm still learning to distinguish between Ss that are worth it and Ss that I'm just eating because they are there. For example, last weekend we were invited to a traditional Shabbat dinner - a delicious multi-course kosher meal made of whole foods and reasonable portions, complimented by some good chardonnay. One of the best meals I've ever had. And I knew right then, those kind of experiences are what Ss are made for.

Compared to that lovely dinner, sitting on my living room couch eating a cheap candy bar seems like a joke. But if the candy bar is in my house, I will eat it - this much I have learned. I guess I am thinking about how to make my Ss truly special - and less frequent.

So it's like, I don't know. On the one hand I'm frustrated that I gained weight. Just a couple of days ago I was ready to quit NoS (hence the bitter, defiant failure day soda.) But I realize this is the only diet I have ever tried that I could see myself doing, easily, for the rest of my life. I just have to find a way to make it work.
''He who has a why to live can bear almost any how.'' - Friedrich Nietzsche-

wosnes

Post by wosnes » Tue Jan 31, 2012 8:40 pm

Don't despair. Many people gain some weight when they start No-S.

My 2¢ worth: