Calloused thumbs (and other observations four months on)

Take a sledgehammer and wrap an old sweater around it. This is your "shovelglove." Every week day morning, set a timer for 14 minutes. Use the shovelglove to perform shoveling, butter churning, and wood chopping motions until the timer goes off. Stop. Rest on weekends and holidays. Baffled? Intrigued? Charmed? Discuss here.
Mr_B

Calloused thumbs (and other observations four months on)

Post by Mr_B » Wed Aug 29, 2007 10:32 am

Hi All,

Just a progress report and brain-fart:

So far I have been SGing for four months now; I have lost 4.4kg (+/-10lbs), I have gained some noticable muscle definition and my colesterol is at an all time low.

The most amazing thing is that four months on, I'm still getting up to shovel some glove every 'N' day with only a very few exceptions. The habit has been formed, and while I may not relish the idea of exercise at 06:10 every morning, I know that if I miss it I like it even less.

So what have I noticed:

1) I have callouses on my thumbs. Why this should be I cannot think. I wouldn't have said that my thumbs bore the brunt of the exercise, but there you go.

2) Visualising doesn't work for me. I find counting reps rather than imagining the soil I am digging is less distracting.

3) 7-21-14 is the way to go for me. (shovel-churning-oven stoking-lever flipping-sack hoisting-side lifting)

4) My 'routine' lasts for about 20 minutes. Sometimes a bit less, sometimes a bit more, but it averages out. I don't work against the clock, but I timed the 7-21-14 cycle and it is about 16-17 minutes. Add to that some stretches and you get 20mins.

5) It is very convenient and discreet such that noone even notices I am doing it. The only evidence is a decreasing waistline and a sledgehammer propped up in the corner of the study.

6) I keep track of my progress on a spreadsheet (geek points). This helps me see how I am doing but more importantly acts as a motivator. Green==Good, Red==Bad