No S and social situations...

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

Merry

No S and social situations...

Post by Merry » Mon Sep 22, 2008 2:42 am

Hi, I'm new to No-S (made it through the whole main page and many related links tonight! plus a lot of forum discussions).

I saw on the main page that we shouldn't trade S days (like take them on Thursdays). And I also saw the part that addressed social situations--however it only addressed dinner parties. The social situations I tend to come up against are snack/dessert oriented. How have people addressed those?

Specifically--our Bible study meets weekly on Tuesdays & has desserts & various snacks. I want to make that an "S" day instead of one of the weekend days. Other than "people might forget if it's not simple," is there any reason not to permanently switch a day? (Is there a reason to have two S days in a row, vs. one on the weekend & one on another day?).

Then, what do people do about occasional friend gatherings that would be non-dinner gatherings but where food is served? Just don't join in? Do people ever trade days when that happens?

And finally, I'd love to hear if people go into a party/gathering type situation with a plan on how not to sample everything on the dessert table, LOL! Yes, I have a terrible sweet tooth. Unfortunately I rarely feel full on desserts, my "hunger" cues must be napping then. I have lately been focusing on not eating something unless it tastes stellar (I understand the No-S snobbery thread on stale donuts, LOL!). But I need some better strategies for not going whole hog on sweets when I'm at a party!

Thanks, Merry :-)
Homeschool Mom and No S returnee as of 11-30-15.
2 years and counting on No-S.
29 lbs. down, 34 to go. Slow and steady wins the race.
Respect Moderation

Betty